Cyber Forensic Division Honored at Southern Legislative Conference


STATESBORO, GA –August 5, 2015– Armstrong State University’s Cyber Forensic Division Program was recently awarded the 2015 State Transformation In Action Recognition (STAR) Award by a panel of policy experts at the 69th Annual Meeting of the Southern Legislative Conference (SLC). The event was held in Savannah from July 18 to July 22.

The SLC STAR Program identifies and promotes state government solutions to regional problems, focusing on policy innovations that are creative, impactful, transferable and effective.

Armstrong’s Cyber Forensic Division (CFD) employs university resources to reduce cyber forensic investigation backlogs for state and federal law enforcement agencies while training students to one day enter the high-demand field. The program’s presentation was given by Armstrong’s Chief of Police Wayne Willcox, who also serves as director of the campus’s Cyber Security Research Institute.

The CFD program is the only of its kind in the region and provides a wide range of services involving the forensics examination of computers, cell phones, smart phones and other electronic devices, in addition to many other services.

Established in 1947, the Southern Legislative Conference is the Southern Office of The Council of State Governments, a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy. The mission of the Southern Legislative Conference is to encourage intergovernmental cooperation among its 15-member states, the largest regional coalition with common interests and goals served by the offices of The Council of State Governments. By working together within the SLC and participating on its committees, Southern state legislative leaders are able to speak in a distinctive, unified voice to address the issues that affect their states and the greater region.

The Southern Legislative Conference, the Southern Office of the Council of State Governments (CSG), has a long history of highlighting exceptional state government programs. The CSG Innovations Awards Program has recognized and promoted creative and successful state government programs and initiatives for nearly 40 years. Begun in 1975 as the Innovations Transfer Program, refined and renamed the CSG Innovations Awards in 1986, the program transitioned to the regional level in 2013. The SLC STAR Program is the Southern regional adaptation of the former, national CSG Innovations Awards program.

Comments are closed