New Appointment to Spaceport Camden Steering Committee



BRUNSWICK, GA– September 22, 2016— Stephen Fleming, former executive director of Georgia Tech’s Enterprise Innovation Institute , has been named to a committee working to build a commercial spaceport in Camden County, Ga.

At the regular scheduled meeting, the Board of Commissioners unanimously approved the appointment of Fleming upon the recommendation of County Administrator, Steve Howard.


Stephen Fleming

Stephen Fleming is a highly successful senior executive with leadership experience in startups, multinationals, private equity, and university-based economic development. He is recognized as a leader for innovation and entrepreneurship including selection as one of the first principal investigators for the NSF I-Corps program. He also led economic development and entrepreneurship initiatives at Georgia Institute of Technology. Fleming is a former general partner of a $260 million early-stage venture capital firm; responsible for 18 investments, 16 board seats, and thirteen successful exits. He previously led the introduction of residential broadband products (ADSL and cable modems) at Nortel Networks and was Vice President of Product Management and Marketing at LICOM (venture-funded startup).

Fleming is currently a founding investor and director with Agile Aero; a founding investor of Ansible SCS; a founding member of the Seraph Group; and a founding member and investor with Space Angels Network. Fleming is an active angel investor, community leader and mentor to local entrepreneurs. He is a graduate of Georgia Institute of Technology (GA Tech) with a Bachelor of Science in Physics.

“We are thrilled to welcome Stephen Fleming to the Spaceport Steering Committee,” said Steve Howard, County Administrator. “His leadership experience and expertise in entrepreneurship and economic development will greatly benefit the project as we are moving ahead in our FAA licensing process and our efforts to bring the commercial space industry to Camden County.”

The Spaceport Steering Committee was formed in September 2015 along with the appointment of Allen Burns, Executive Director of the Coastal Regional Commission, to serve as Chairman. On January 22, 2016 Dr. Robert D. Braun, Dr. Ann Proctor, and Mercedes A. Thompson, as well as Dr. Dennis K. McBride (in February) were appointed as members to the Spaceport Steering Committee.

Comments are closed